Revert to Earlier Revisions

You can revert content back to an earlier revision. This is especially useful when you have multiple people working on the content and somebody makes an unwanted change. For example, a contributor may add lots of technical detail to a paragraph that you, as the technical writer, feel is more detail than the reader needs. So you can revert the paragraph to a previous revision to "undo" the changes the contributor made.

You can revert:

  • Entire components, such as topics and informaltopics

  • Individual text fragments (paragraphs).

You can revert a topic to a previous revision of the topic. If you decide against the change, you can revert it back to another revision.

  1. Find the component in the Content Manager. Select its options menu ( ...) and then select Revisions.

  2. Find the revision you want to revert to.

    revisionsoverview2.png
  3. Select the options menu ( ... ) for the revision and then select Revert to this revision.

    revertrevision.png

    The topic reverts back to the revision you selected.

Tip

You can also create a new document from an older revision if you want. It will be placed in the same folder as the current topic. It is also possible to download an export XML file of a revision.

You can revert a text fragment, such as a paragraph, back to a previous revision. For example, if someone has added incorrect information to a paragraph, you can change it back to the correct content from an earlier revision.

  1. Open the topic that contains the text fragment and then select the text fragment.

  2. In the element structure menu, select the para element and then select Text > Show history.

    para-show-history.jpg
  3. Select the Date link for the revision you want to revert to.

    Paligo shows a preview of the revision.

    text-fragment-revise2.jpg
  4. Select Revert version.

Note

If your text history contains revisions that are duplicates or are no longer needed, you can delete them.