Share Content (without assignments)

With the Share document feature, you can quickly and conveniently share content with other users. This is very useful when you want quick feedback or contributions, but without needing a formal assignment. When you use the Share document feature, there are no time frames and it is not shown in the Planner.

Note

Share document is only available for sharing content in the same source language. This is by design, as sharing content in different languages would break the mapping between the source language and translated versions.

Here's how it works:

  1. You share a publication, or a part of a publication, with another user. Paligo sends an email to let them know that a document has been shared with them.

  2. The user reviews or edits the content, depending on the type of user account they have. Paligo reviewers can provide feedback comments, and Contributor Plus users can add to and edit the content.

  3. When the user saves their work, the comments and edits are added to the relevant topics in Paligo.

Tip

Shares are not formal assignments and so do not have a set deadline. If you need feedback or contributions within a certain time frame, add a comment when you share the content.

If you are a Paligo author and you want to share a publication or topic:

  1. In the Content Manager, select the options menu ( ... ) for the publication or topic that you want to share, and then select Share Document from the menu.

  2. On the Share Document dialog, choose the user(s) that you want to share the content with. You can also leave a message to provide them with more information.

    choose-who-to-share-with.jpg
  3. Select OK.

    Paligo sends an email to the user(s), inviting them to work on the content. The email contains your message and a link to the content. When the user selects the link, the content is opened in Review Mode or Edit Mode (using the Contributor Plus Editor), depending on the user's account type. They can then review or edit the content.

If you are a reviewer or Contributor Plus user and you want to share content:

  1. Open the content in Review mode or Edit mode.

    You can open the content by selecting the link in the email that invited you to review or contribute, or from your dashboard.

  2. Position the cursor over the text so that icons appear in the top-left corner, and then select the share document icon.

    share-contribution.jpg
  3. On the Share Document dialog, choose the user(s) that you want to share the content with. You can also leave a message to provide them with more information.

    choose-who-to-share-with.jpg
  4. Select OK.

    Paligo sends an email to the user(s), inviting them to work on the content. The email contains your message and a link to the content. When the user selects the link, the content is opened in Review Mode or Edit Mode (using the Contributor Plus Editor), depending on the user's account type. They can then review or edit the content.

If you are invited to work on shared content, you will receive an email that contains a link. When you select the link, the content will open in the view that is appropriate for your Paligo user account.

You will also see any content that has been shared with you on the Dashboard, in the Shared documents widget:

shared-documents.png
  • For reviewers, it will open in Review mode.

  • For Contributor Plus users, it will open in Edit mode (the Contributor Plus Editor), but you can also switch to Review mode. For Authors, it will also open in the Edit mode, but you can also switch to the full Paligo Editor.

  1. Use Review mode or Edit mode to provide feedback or edit the content.

    For more information on using the different modes and interfaces, see:

    Working in Review Mode

    Working in Edit Mode (the Contributor Plus Editor)

  2. Add a comment with a mention to the person who shared the content with you. To mention someone in a comment, use the @ symbol and then select their name.

  3. Create a Snapshot.

    A snapshot is a record of the content at a specific moment in time. They are used for comparing different revisions of the content, for example, a contributor can compare a snapshot taken yesterday to a snapshot taken today.

  4. Select Save.

You can always remove documents that have been shared with you if you do not need them anymore or if you are not the right person to work on them:

unshare.png